UK Padel Court Prices: Eight Venues Compared
A dated comparison of court hire, player shares, session lengths and equipment costs at eight selected venues in England and Wales.
GuideBy PadelFormat Editorial TeamPublished 9 min read

Quick answer
Published court-hire prices at eight selected venues in England and Wales work out at £4 to £15 per player per hour when four people split the court. That excludes equipment and booking extras. These are advertised tariffs checked on 20 September 2026, not a UK average or guaranteed checkout prices. A 90-minute booking can make your actual bill higher than the hourly figure suggests.
TL;DR
- Compare the whole-court price, booking length and four-player split before choosing a session.
- The comparison below covers eight venues, mostly in London and Essex, plus Rochester and Cardiff. It cannot rank UK cities by cost.
- Maldon's advertised £9.50 peak player-hour becomes £14.25 per player for its required 90-minute booking.
- Check racket hire separately. Some venues include basic equipment, while others charge per player or cap the charge per court.
On this page
Published court prices at eight venues
These are non-member prices where a membership distinction is shown. Down Hall advertises pay-and-play rates. Cardiff City House of Sport lists a general tariff without a member or peak split.
All hourly figures below refer to court hire only. The per-player column assumes four people share the cost equally. Where the club sells a 90-minute session, we have converted its price to an hourly equivalent without pretending that a one-hour booking is available.
| Venue and location | Published tariff | Court-hour equivalent | Per player-hour, four sharing | Booking detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Down Hall, Hatfield Heath | £16 off-peak / £20 peak per hour | £16 / £20 | £4 / £5 | Peak clock times not stated on tariff page |
| Padel United Chelmsford | £22 off-peak / £30 peak per court-hour | £22 / £30 | £5.50 / £7.50 | Peak clock times not stated |
| Padel United Colchester | £22 off-peak / £30 peak / £24 weekend per court-hour | £22 / £30 / £24 | £5.50 / £7.50 / £6 | Peak bookings are 90 minutes only |
| Padel United Maldon | £28 off-peak / £38 peak / £21 weekend per court-hour | £28 / £38 / £21 | £7 / £9.50 / £5.25 | Peak bookings are 90 minutes only |
| Cardiff City House of Sport | £26 for 60 minutes or £39 for 90 minutes | £26 for either duration | £6.50 | Indoor. Page still labels this its 2025 price list |
| Frindsbury Tennis & Padel Club, Rochester | £36 off-peak / £44 peak for 90 minutes | £24 / £29.33 | £6 / £7.33 | Actual 90-minute share is £9 / £11 |
| Stratford Padel Club, London | £48 off-peak / £58.68 peak for 60 minutes | £48 / £58.68 | £12 / £14.67 | Indoor. Separate 90-minute prices apply |
| The Padel Yard, Wandsworth, London | £60 per court-hour | £60 | £15 | No peak split shown in the published hourly tariff |
Source note: venue price pages linked in Sources, accessed 20 September 2026. Calculations by PadelFormat. Rounded to the nearest penny. Cardiff's source year is older than the observation date, so confirm its current booking price. The remaining tariff pages do not give a clear tariff-effective date.
The table helps you compare those named venues. Two London clubs cannot tell you what London usually costs, and one Cardiff venue cannot stand for the whole city. Four of the eight venues belong to Padel United, so the sample also reflects one operator's pricing more heavily than the others.
For facilities and locations, use our UK padel court guide alongside the price comparison. Check whether you want indoor or outdoor courts and whether the journey fits your evening before choosing on price alone.
A player-hour price is not always your booking bill
At Maldon, the published non-member peak rate is £38 per court-hour, or £9.50 per player-hour. The same page requires peak bookings to last 90 minutes. Applying that tariff gives a £57 court booking and a £14.25 share for each of four players.
Colchester has the same 90-minute peak rule. Its £7.50 player-hour becomes £11.25 for the booking. Use the hourly figure to compare rates and the session figure to split your bill. Sources: Maldon and Colchester.
Frindsbury starts from a session price instead. Its £44 peak court booking lasts 90 minutes, so each player pays £11. Dividing that share by 1.5 gives £7.33 per player-hour after rounding. Do not multiply the rounded hourly figure back up and expect an exact bill. Keep the original £44 when splitting the booking.
Longer sessions do not automatically mean a lower hourly rate. Cardiff City House of Sport's published £26 for an hour and £39 for 90 minutes both equal £6.50 per player-hour. Your share of the longer session is £9.75. House of Sport price list.
Stratford lists its 90-minute non-member court bookings at £72 off-peak and £88 peak. That is £18 or £22 per person for the session. Its separate 60-minute peak tariff is £58.68, so use the listed booking price rather than scaling a rounded figure. Stratford pricing.
Choose the amount of court time your group wants before comparing the final bill. Our padel match-duration guide explains why booking length and the time needed to finish a match are separate decisions.
Check the club's peak times
Stratford defines peak as 5pm–9.30pm on weekdays and 8am–6.30pm at weekends. Frindsbury starts its weekday peak period at 4pm and has weekend off-peak time from 7pm. At 6.45pm on Saturday, those published definitions put the two clubs in different tariff bands. The linked pricing pages in Sources give the full time bands.
Maldon also lists a separate weekend rate of £21 per court-hour for non-members, below its £28 off-peak rate. You would overstate its weekend price if you treated every weekend booking as the £38 peak tariff.
Several pages in the table state peak and off-peak prices without specifying the boundary. We have left that information unknown. Check the price on the exact date and starting time you want, especially for a session that crosses a tariff boundary. The website summary alone does not establish how the booking system charges that session.
What racket hire adds
Keep court hire and equipment in separate lines when comparing bookings. Chelmsford advertises free rackets and balls, subject to availability. Maldon also offers basic equipment free, with an extra charge for premium rackets and new balls.
At The Padel Yard, the listed £10 racket rental per person takes a non-member's one-hour court share from £15 to £25 before balls or any other extras. That is a calculation using the published hire charge, not a completed checkout quote. Its website also lists a 25p-per-player fee when using split payment. The Padel Yard prices and booking information.
Frindsbury charges £5 per racket but caps hire at £10 for two to four rackets on one court. Four players hiring rackets for its £44 peak session would therefore split £54, or £13.50 each for 90 minutes, before buying balls. Charging each of them £5 would overstate the listed group rental cost. Frindsbury court prices.
Colchester's page gives conflicting equipment information. One section lists racket hire at £1.50, while another says rackets and balls come at no extra cost. Its equipment charge remains unresolved in this comparison. Confirm it in the booking details.
If your group already owns rackets and brings suitable balls, the court-only comparison is closer to your bill. If you are trying padel for the first time, included equipment may make one booking easier to arrange. Our guide to starting padel covers what to bring before buying your own kit.
When would a membership pay for itself?
Work from your own share of the saving. A discount on a four-player court is not necessarily a saving that one membership holder receives in full.
Frindsbury makes that rule explicit. Its £100 annual membership reduces only the member's quarter of the court fee. For a 90-minute off-peak booking, the full non-member court price is £36 and the full-member price is £27. The individual saving is (£36 − £27) ÷ 4 = £2.25 per session.
On those prices, 44 off-peak sessions save £99. The 45th takes the saving above the £100 annual fee. At peak times, the listed £44 and £33 court prices give an individual saving of £2.75, which exceeds £100 after 37 sessions.
Those are court-fee-only break-even calculations for one adult membership. They assume unchanged prices and the same 90-minute tariff each time. They leave out other benefits, and a mixture of peak and off-peak sessions changes the total. Count the sessions you expect to play at that club, rather than all the padel you hope to play anywhere.
How we collected and compared the prices
PadelFormat read public venue websites on 20 September 2026 and recorded advertised doubles court prices with an identifiable duration. We selected eight venues with usable tariffs in England and Wales. This is an original comparison of published prices, not a survey of players, a booking transaction or an inspection of the courts.
Some public pages directed players to booking apps without exposing a comparable court price, or gave a price without its duration. We excluded those entries from the comparison instead of assuming that every figure meant one hour. We also excluded an announced tariff where the venue's operating status was unclear.
To reproduce the conversion, divide the whole-court booking price by its length in hours. Divide that result by four for the player-hour figure. For a tariff already expressed per player-hour, multiply by four to recover the court-hour price. Preserve the original session charge when calculating what each person pays.
We recorded 19 tariff entries across the eight venues, including different time bands and durations. Those are not 19 independent venues. The main table groups them by venue and the text explains the extra duration options.
The sample is concentrated in southern England, with one Welsh venue and none in Scotland or Northern Ireland. We have not calculated a national average, city median or indoor-price premium. Court setting is not consistently specified alongside the tariffs, and the two identified indoor venues are not enough to isolate the cost of playing indoors.
Prices can change after the observation date. A page still being online does not prove its tariff has been refreshed, as Cardiff's 2025-labelled list shows. Treat the figures as a dated comparison and check the current booking total, equipment charges and cancellation terms before paying.
Frequently asked questions
- What if only two people share a doubles court?
- If the whole-court fee stays the same, each person pays half rather than a quarter. For example, a hypothetical £30 one-hour doubles court costs £15 each for two people or £7.50 each for four. A dedicated singles court may have a separate tariff. Do not substitute that price for a doubles booking without checking what you are reserving.
- Are coached sessions and open matches comparable to court hire?
- Only after checking what the price buys. Coaching includes an instructor, while an individual open-match booking sells you a place rather than the whole court. The comparison above uses court-hire tariffs. For your next booking, check that all four players are comparing the same activity, duration and membership status.
Sources
Primary venue pages, accessed 20 September 2026. Unless noted, no clear tariff-effective date was stated.
- Down Hall: court prices and pay-and-play access
- Padel United Chelmsford: member and non-member hourly prices, equipment
- Padel United Colchester: hourly prices, 90-minute peak rule and equipment information
- Padel United Maldon: hourly tariffs, booking lengths and equipment
- Cardiff City House of Sport: prices, Page labels the list 2025 and prices inclusive of VAT.
- Frindsbury Tennis & Padel Club: 90-minute rates, membership, time bands and hire
- Stratford Padel Club: booking prices and peak times and indoor court setting
- The Padel Yard: hourly court rate, rental and split-payment information
Related reading
- UK padel statistics
Britain has passed one million padel players and 1,825 courts. These statistics show how fast participation and supply grew, where the gaps remain and why some official totals disagree.
- Best padel courts in the UK
Ten standout UK padel venues compared by court setup, weather protection, accessibility, facilities and playing experience.
- Padel match duration
What match research says about duration, how much court time to book, and how to avoid leaving a close match unfinished.